Cabinet approves opening of 85 new Kendriya Vidyalayas (KVs) under civil/defence sector across the country and expansion of one existing KV i.e. KV Shivamogga, Karnataka by adding 2 additional sections in all the classes

Posted On: 06 DEC 2024 8:02PM by PIB Delhi

The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs, chaired by the Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi has approved opening of 85 new Kendriya Vidyalayas (KVs) under Civil/Defence sector across the country and expansion of one existing KV i.e. KV Shivamogga, District Shivamogga, Karnataka to facilitate increased number of Central Government employees by adding two additional Sections in all the classes under the Kendriya Vidyalaya Scheme (Central Sector Scheme). The list of these 86 KVs is annexed.

The total estimated requirement of funds for establishment of the 85 new KVs and expansion of 01 existing nearby KV is Rs. 5872.08 crore (approx.) spread over a period of eight years from 2025-26. This includes capital expenditure component of Rs. 2862.71 crore (approx.) and operational expenditure of Rs. 3009.37 crore (approx.).

As on date, there are 1256 functional KVs, including 03 abroad viz. Moscow, Kathmandu and Tehran and a total number of 13.56 lakh (approx.) students are studying in these KVs.

The administrative structure for implementing the project will require creation of posts at par with the norms fixed by the Sangathan for running of one full fledged KV with a capacity of approximately 960 students. Hence, 960 X 86 = 82560 students would benefit. As per norms in vogue, a full-fledged Kendriya Vidyalaya provides employment to 63 persons and accordingly, approval of 85 new KVs and the expansion of one existing nearby KV, which will add 33 new posts, a total of 5,388 direct permanent employment opportunities will be created. Construction and allied activities associated with augmentation of various facilities in all KVs are likely to generate employment opportunities for many skilled and unskilled workers.

The Government of India approved the Scheme of Kendriya Vidyalayas in November 1962 to provide educational facilities of uniform standard throughout the country for the children of transferable Central Government/Defence employees. Consequently, "Central Schools Organization" was started as a unit of the Ministry of Education of the Government of India. Initially, 20 Regimental Schools in Defence Stations were taken over as Central Schools during the Academic Year 1963-64.

Kendriya Vidyalayas are primarily opened to cater to educational needs of wards of transferable and non-transferable employees of Central Government including Defence and Paramilitary forces and for children of floating population and others including those living in remote and undeveloped locations in the country.

In pursuance of the National Education Policy 2020, almost all Kendriya Vidyalayas have been designated as PM Shri schools, showcasing the implementation of NEP 2020 and acting as exemplar Schools for others. The KVs are some of the most sought after schools, due to their quality teaching, innovative pedagogy and up-to-date infrastructure. There has been continuous increase in the number of students applying for admission to class I in KVs every year and the performance of the students of the Kendriya Vidyalayas in the board examinations conducted by CBSE has consistently been the best among all educational systems.

ANNEXURE

LIST of 86 (85 new and 01 existing) KVs

Name of State/UT	Sl. No	Name of Proposals		
OPENING OF 85 NEW KENDRIYA VIDYALAYAS				
Andhra Pradesh	1.	Anakapalle, District Anakapalle		
Andhra Pradesh	2.	Valasapalle Village, Madanapalle Mandal, District Chittoor		
Andhra Pradesh	3.	Palasamudram Village, Gorantala Mandal, District Sri Satya Sai		
Andhra Pradesh	4.	Tallapalli Village, Macherla Mandal, Distri Guntur		
Andhra Pradesh	5.	Nandigama, District Krishna		
Andhra Pradesh	6.	Rompicherla Village, Narasaraopet Divisio District Guntur		
Andhra Pradesh	7.	Nuzvid, District Krishna (Now Eluru Distri		
Andhra Pradesh	8.	Dhone, District Nandyal		
Arunachal Pradesh	9.	Pitapool, Lower Subansiri		
Assam	10.	Jagiroad, District Morigaon		
Chhattisgarh	11.	Mungeli, District-Mungeli		
Chhattisgarh	12.	Surajpur, District Surajpur		
Chhattisgarh	13.	Bemetara District, Chhattisgarh		
Chhattisgarh	14.	Hasoud, District JanjgirChampa		
Gujarat	15.	Chakkargarh, District Amreli		
Gujarat	16.	Ognaj, District Ahmedabad		
Gujarat	17.	Veraval, District Gir-Somnath		
Himachal Pradesh	18.	Riri Kuthera, District Kangra		
Himachal Pradesh	19.	Gokulnagar, UpparBhanjal, District- Una		
Himachal Pradesh	20.	Nandpur, District Una		
Himachal Pradesh	21.	Thunag, District Mandi		
Jammu & Kashmir (UT)	22.	Gool, District Ramban		
Jammu & Kashmir (UT)	23.	Ramban, District Ramban		
Jammu & Kashmir (UT)	24.	Bani, District Kathua		
Jammu & Kashmir (UT)	25.	Ramkot, District Kathua		
Jammu & Kashmir (UT)	26.	Reasi, District Reasi		
Jammu & Kashmir (UT)	27.	Katra (Kakriyal), District Reasi		
Jammu & Kashmir (UT)	28.	Ratnipora, District Pulwama		
Jammu & Kashmir (UT)	29.	Galander (Chandhara), District Pulwama		
Jammu & Kashmir (UT)	30.	Mughal Maidan, District Kisthwar		
Jammu & Kashmir (UT)	31.	Gulpur, District Poonch		
Jammu & Kashmir (UT)	32.	Drugmulla, District Kupwara		
Jammu & Kashmir (UT)	33.	Vijaypur, District Samba		

Jammu & Kashmir (UT)	34.	Panchari, District Udhampur
Jharkhand	35.	Barwadih, District Latehar (Railway)
Jharkhand	36.	Dhanwar Block, District Giridih
Karnataka	37.	Mudnal Village, Yadgiri District
Karnataka	38.	Kunchiganal Village, District Chitradurga
Karnataka	39.	Elargi (D) Village, Sindhanur Taluk, Distric Raichur
Kerala	40.	Thodupuzha, District Idduki
Madhya Pradesh	41.	Ashok Nagar, District- Ashok Nagar
Madhya Pradesh	42.	Nagda, District Ujjain
Madhya Pradesh	43.	Maihar, District Satna
Madhya Pradesh	44.	Tirodi, District Balaghat
Madhya Pradesh	45.	Barghat, District Seoni
Madhya Pradesh	46.	Niwari, District Niwari
Madhya Pradesh	47.	Khajuraho, District Chhatarpur
Madhya Pradesh	48.	Jhinjhari, District Katni
Madhya Pradesh	49.	Sabalgarh, District Morena
Madhya Pradesh	50.	Narsinghgarh, District Rajgarh
Madhya Pradesh	51.	CAPT (Central Academy Police Training) Bhopal, Kanhasaiya
Maharashtra	52.	Akola, District Akola
Maharashtra	53.	NDRF Campus, Sudumbare, Pune
Maharashtra	54.	Nachane, District Ratnagiri
NCT of Delhi (UT)	55.	Khajuri Khas District- North East Delhi
Odisha	56.	Railway Titlagarh, District Bolangir
Odisha	57.	Patnagarh, District Bolangir
Odisha	58.	ITBP khurda, District Khurda
Odisha	59.	Athmallik District Angul
Odisha	60.	Kuchinda, District Sambalpur
Odisha	61.	Dhenkanal (Kamakhyanagar)
Odisha	62.	Jeypore, Koraput District
Odisha	63.	Talcher, District Angul
Rajasthan	64.	AFS Phalodi, District Jodhpur
Rajasthan	65.	BSF Satrana, District Sriganganagar
Rajasthan	66.	BSF Srikaranpur, District Sriganganagar
Rajasthan	67.	Hindaun City, District Karauli
Rajasthan	68.	Merta City, District Nagaur
Rajasthan	69.	Rajsamand District Rajsamand
Rajasthan	70.	Rajgarh, District Alwar
Rajasthan	71.	Bhim, District Rajsamand

Rajasthan	72.	Mahwa, District Dausa		
Tamil Nadu	73.	Theni, District Theni		
Tamil Nadu	74.	Pillaiyarpatti, District Thanjavur		
Tripura	75.	Udaipur, District Gomati		
Tripura	76.	Dharmanagar, District North Tripura		
Uttar Pradesh	77.	Payagpur, District Jaunpur		
Uttar Pradesh	78.	Maharajganj, District Maharajganj		
Uttar Pradesh	79.	Bijnor District Bijnor		
Uttar Pradesh	80.	Chandpur, District Ayodhya		
Uttar Pradesh	81.	Kannauj District Kannauj		
Uttarakhand	82.	Narendra Nagar, District Tehri Garhwal		
Uttarakhand	83.	Dwarahat, District Almora		
Uttarakhand	84.	Kotdwar, District Pauri Garhwal		
Uttarakhand	85.	Madan Negi, District Tehri Garhwal		
EXPANSION OF 01 EXISTING KENDRIYA VIDYALAYA BY ADDING 2 ADDITIONAL SECTIONS IN THE CLASSES				
Karnataka	86.	KV Shivamogga, District Shivamogga		

MJPS/BM

(Release ID: 2081686)