The Central Sector Scheme ‘National Means-cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme’ was launched in May, 2008 after getting approval from CCEA with the objective to award scholarships to meritorious students of economically weaker sections to arrest their drop out at class VIII and encourage them to continue the study at secondary stage. One lakh fresh scholarships of Rs.12000/- per annum per student are awarded to selected students of class IX every year and their continuation/renewal in classes X to XII for study in a State Government, Government-aided and Local body schools under the scheme. There is a separate quota of scholarships for each State/UT (View).

The scheme has been approved for continuation for three years from 2017-18 to 2019-20 with the approval of Hon’ble HRM and Hon’ble Finance Minister after appraisal by EFC. As per the latest provision under the scheme the scholarship amount is enhanced from Rs. 6000/- to Rs. 12000/- per year with effect from 1st April, 2017.

Eligibility criteria:

Students whose parental income from all sources is not more than Rs. 1,50,000/- per annum are eligible to avail the scholarships. The students must have minimum of 55 % marks or equivalent grade in Class VII examination for appearing in selection test for award of scholarship (relax able by 5% for SC/ST students). The students should be studying as regular student in a Government, Government-aided and local body schools. Students of NVS, KVS and residential schools are not entitled for the scholarships. There is reservation as per State Government norms.

Selection of fresh Awardee Students:

Each State/UT conducts its own test for selection of students for the award of the National Means-cum-Merit Scholarship. The test will be conducted at stage of class-VIII. The students, who fulfill the eligibility criteria, must pass both the tests, i.e., Mental Ability Test (MAT) and Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) under NMMSS exam with at least 40 % marks in aggregate taken together for these two tests. For the SC/ST students, this cut off will be 32% marks.

Selection of Renewal Awardees Students:

The awardees should get minimum of 55% marks in Class IX and XI, while a minimum of 60% in Class X for continuance of scholarship (relaxable by 5% for SC/ST candidates).

Disbursal of Scholarship:

National Scholarships Portal (NSP) is one-stop solution through which various services starting from student application, application receipt, processing, sanction and disbursal of various scholarships to Students are enabled.
The scheme is boarded on National scholarship Portal (NSP) from 2015-16. The NSP has been developed by Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY) for streamlining and fast tracking the release of Scholarships across Ministries / Departments with efficiency, transparency and reliability.

NMMSS Process under NSP:

  • To apply for NMMSS, students from different States and UTs, who have qualified in the MAT and SAT under NMMSS must register themselves on NSP.
  • The applications are verified online on the portal by the prescribed State authorities.
  • The final list of eligible candidates, complete in all respect, is provided by NSP Team to the M/o Education fund for sanction of the scholarship.
  • The Ministry of Education thereafter sanctions funds and releases to State Bank of India (SBI), the implementing bank for the Scheme.
  • The scholarships payment to students directly by electronic transfer into their bank accounts under Direct Benefit Transfer (DBT) through Public Financial Management System (PFMS).

NMMSS Guidelines

List of State Nodal Officers

To apply for NMMSS or to know more, click here.